ATAD II – Planned Implementation in Germany Leads to Confusion and Significant Consequences for the Fund Industry

ATAD II – Planned Implementation in Germany Leads to Confusion and Significant Consequences for the Fund Industry

ATAD II – Planned Implementation in Germany Leads to Confusion and Significant Consequences for the Fund Industry

On 10 December 2019, the German Federal Ministry of Finance (“BMF”) adopted a draft law on the implementation of the Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive of 12 July 2016 (“ATAD I”) and its successor of May 29 2017 (“ATAD II”)[1] (“ATAD Implementation Law”, ATAD-UmsG). The ATAD Implementation Law will apply retroactively to all matters from 1 January 2020. Legislative implementation has not yet taken place. This newsletter will provide information on the current draft law with regard to the ATAD Implementation Law and on the planned changes contained therein to the foreign tax act (“AStG”) and in the version of the draft law to the foreign tax act (“AStG-E”).

Within the planned reform of the AStG, potential implications for the investment fund industry become apparent, particularly when turning away from the primacy and shielding effect of the German Investment Tax Act (InvStG) in relation to the AStG. As a result, Luxembourg investment funds in the legal form of a corporation, such as the société d’investissement en capital à risque (“SICAR”), the fonds d’investissement spécialisé (“FIS”), and the fonds d’investissement alternatif réservé (“RAIF”, hereinafter jointly referred to as “Funds” or “Investment Funds”), may now be subject to the AStG. According to Section 7(1) of the AStG-E, retained profits of the Funds and any subsidiaries taxed at a low rate are to be directly attributed to German investors and treated as taxable dividends in Germany.

Reform of Controlled Foreign Corporation Rules and Their Impact

The controlled foreign corporation (CFC) rules have been governed by the AStG since 1973 and aim to prevent that (appropriate) taxation in Germany is avoided through the involvement of foreign companies taxed at a low rate (“Intermediate Companies”). According to the current law, these foreign Intermediate Companies are foreign companies which generate passive income, such as interest, and whose effective tax burden is less than 25%. The shielding effect of the Intermediate Company or a Luxembourg Investment Fund is now to be repealed by the AStG-E.

As part of the reform of CFC rules, pursuant to Section 7(7) of the AStG-E, the primacy of the German Investment Tax Act (“InvStG”) in relation to the AStG is to be repealed. The repeal of this primacy may result in a (temporary) double taxation since, in addition to the advance lump sum set forth in Section 16 of the InvStG, the CFC rules in accordance with the AStG-E will also apply.

The ATAD Implementation Law does provide for anti-avoidance rules with regard to double taxation. However, the elimination of the primacy of the InvStG results in considerable additional administrative burdens and costs for the fund industry since, in addition to the provisions set out in the InvStG, those of the AStG must also be considered and observed. In this context, it should be noted that the exclusive determination of income in accordance with Section 4(1) of the EStG (incomplete comparison of business assets) provided for by the ATAD Implementation Law would eliminate the possibility of using the cash method of accounting as defined in Section 4(3) of the EStG. Furthermore, the intended determination of taxable amounts for each known investor would also lead to a new organizational hurdle and the need of having to deal with foreign law.

In the course of the legislative procedure, the next step will be for the Cabinet of Germany to decide on the draft law submitted. If the decision is positive, the ATAD Implementation Law will be introduced as a bill by the Federal Government in the German Bundestag. Therefore, it remains to be seen to what extent the planned amendment will actually be implemented in its current form.

AIQUNITED will be happy to assist you with the preliminary analysis of the scope of application, the preparation of tax compliance regulations within your company structure as well as with any other questions you may have, and will continue to provide you with further information on this topic.

[1] EU Directive 2016/1164; EU Directive 2017/952; for further details of the ATAD Directives please see our separate newsletter on our website (www.aiqunited.com/blog).

ATAD II – Geplante Umsetzung in Deutschland führt zu Unverständnis und erheblichen Folgen für die Fondsbranche

ATAD II – Geplante Umsetzung in Deutschland führt zu Unverständnis und erheblichen Folgen für die Fondsbranche

ATAD II – Geplante Umsetzung in Deutschland führt zu Unverständnis und erheblichen Folgen für die Fondsbranche

Am 10.12.2019 hat das deutsche Bundesministerium der Finanzen („BMF“) einen Referentenentwurf eines Gesetzes zur Umsetzung der Anti-Steuervermeidungsrichtlinie vom 12.07.2016 („ATAD I“) und deren Fortsetzung vom 29.05.2017 („ATAD II“)[1] erlassen („ATAD-UmsG“). Das ATAD-UmsG soll rückwirkend für alle Sachverhalte ab dem 01.01.2020 gelten. Zu einer gesetzgeberischen Umsetzung ist es bisher nicht gekommen. Im Folgenden informieren wir Sie im Rahmen unseres Newsletters über den aktuellen Gesetzentwurf zum ATAD-UmsG und zur darin enthaltenen geplanten Änderung des Außensteuergesetzes („AStG“ und in der Fassung des Referentenentwurfs „AStG-E“).

Innerhalb der geplanten Reform des AStG zeigen sich potenzielle Auswirkungen für die Investmentfondsindustrie insbesondere auch in der Abkehr von der Vorrangstellung und Abschirmwirkung des Investmentsteuergesetzes („InvStG“) gegenüber dem Außensteuergesetz. Hierdurch kann es für luxemburgische Investmentfonds in der Rechtsform einer Kapitalgesellschaft, wie z. B. die société dinvestissement en capital à risque („SICAR“), der fonds d’investissement spécialisé („FIS“) sowie der fonds d’investissement alternatif réservé („RAIF“ gemeinsam im Folgenden „Fonds“ oder „Investmentfonds“), nunmehr zur Anwendung des AStG kommen. Nach § 7 Abs. 1 AStG-E sollen die thesaurierten Gewinne der Fonds und etwaigen niedrig besteuerten Tochtergesellschaften den deutschen Investoren direkt zugerechnet und in Deutschland als steuerpflichtige Dividenden behandelt werden.

Reform der Hinzurechnungsbesteuerung und deren Auswirkungen

Die Hinzurechnungsbesteuerung ist seit 1973 im Außensteuergesetz geregelt und soll verhindern, dass durch die Zwischenschaltung von ausländischen, niedrig besteuerten Gesellschaften („Zwischengesellschaften“) eine (angemessene) Besteuerung in Deutschland vermieden wird. Bei diesen ausländischen Zwischengesellschaften handelt es sich laut aktuellem Gesetz um ausländische Gesellschaften, welche passive Einkünfte, wie z. B. Zinsen, erzielen und deren effektive Steuerbelastung weniger als 25 % beträgt. Die Abschirmwirkung der Zwischengesellschaft bzw. eines luxemburgischen Investmentfonds soll durch das AStG-E nunmehr aufgehoben werden.

Im Rahmen der Reform der Hinzurechnungsbesteuerung soll insbesondere die Vorrangstellung des InvStG vor dem AStG nach § 7 Abs. 7 AStG-E aufgehoben werden. Aufgrund der Aufhebung dieser Vorrangstellung kann eine (temporäre) steuerliche Doppelbelastung drohen, da neben der Vorabpauschale nach § 16 InvStG auch die Hinzurechnungsbesteuerung nach dem AStG-E Anwendung finden soll.

Zwar sieht das ATAD-UmsG hinsichtlich einer Doppelbelastung auch Vermeidungsregelungen vor. Dennoch führt die Abschaffung der Vorrangstellung des InvStG zu erheblichen administrativen Mehrbelastungen und Kosten der Fondsindustrie, da neben den Vorschriften des InvStG auch die des AStG zu prüfen und zu beachten sind. Hierbei sei zum einen auf die von dem ATAD-UmsG vorgesehene ausschließliche Gewinnermittlung nach § 4 Abs. 1 EStG (unvollständiger Betriebsvermögensvergleich) hingewiesen, sodass die Möglichkeit, auf die Einnahme-Überschuss-Rechnung gemäß § 4 Abs. 3 EStG zurückzugreifen, entfallen würde. Zum anderen würde auch die beabsichtige Ermittlung von Besteuerungsgrundlagen pro bekannten Investor zu einer neuen organisatorischen Hürde und einer Auseinandersetzung mit fremdem Recht führen.

Im Rahmen des weiteren Gesetzgebungsverfahrens wird im nächsten Schritt zunächst das Bundeskabinett über den eingebrachten Referentenentwurf beschließen. Bei positivem Entscheid wird das ATAD-UmsG als Gesetzesvorlage seitens der Bundesregierung in den Deutschen Bundestag eingebracht. Inwiefern die geplante Änderung tatsächlich in der aktuellen Ausprägung umgesetzt wird, bleibt also abzuwarten.

AIQUNITED steht Ihnen gerne bei der Vorabanalyse des Anwendungsbereichs, der Erstellung von Steuer-Compliance Regelungen innerhalb Ihrer Unternehmensstruktur sowie zu anderen Fragen zur Verfügung und wird Sie weiter zu dieser Thematik informieren.

[1]   EU-Richtlinie 2016/1164; EU-Richtlinie 2017/952; hinsichtlich der weiteren Einzelheiten der ATAD-Richtlinien verweisen wir auf unseren gesonderten Newsletter auf unserer Homepage.