German Tax Reporting and Partial Exemptions for German Investors

German Tax Reporting and Partial Exemptions for German Investors

German Tax Reporting and Partial Exemptions for German Investors

Following the introduction of the new German Investment Tax Act (“InvStG”) of 1 January 2018, the new regulations must be taken into account for the first time at the level of the investors based in Germany when preparing tax returns for the tax year 2018.

1. Transmission of Relevant Data for German Investors

German (taxable) investors require a wide range of information for their tax returns, which must be made available to them in the first few months of 2019 as part of the tax reporting process or via e.g. the WM Datenservice database.

The most relevant information relating to the taxation of German investors includes:

1. qualification as mutual fund (Publikums-Investmentfonds) or specialized investment fund (Spezial-Investmentfonds);
2. information on the distributions made in the calendar year 2018;
3. NAV calculation at the beginning of the year (1 January 2018) and at year-end (31 December 2018);
4. calculation of base proceeds to determine any tax reliefs on retained earnings (the so-called “Vorabpauschale” (advance lump-sum amounts) under Section 18 of the InvStG);
5. qualification of the fund as “equity fund” (Aktienfonds), “mixed fund” (Mischfonds), “real estate fund” or any other fund according to Section 2(6-9) of the InvStG (see also below).

2. Partial Exemption of Income of German Investors Pursuant to Section 20 of the InvStG

In accordance with the provisions set forth in Section 20 of the InvStG, German investors may claim a partial exemption of their income generated from the investment fund if the conditions for an “equity fund”, a “mixed fund”, or a “real estate fund” are met at the level of the investment fund (or at the level of the sub-fund assets). Thus, investors investing in equity funds and real estate funds can expect to receive a tax exemption of up to 80%, whereas for mixed funds, a tax exemption up to a maximum of 40% may be granted.

According to the investment requirements, an equity fund under Section 2(6) of the InvStG invests at least 51% (or at least 50% for foreign funds) of the value of its assets in equity participations, while a mixed fund under Section 2(7) of the InvStG invests at least 25% of its assets in equity participations. For a precise definition of equity participations, please see the circular on the letter issued by the Federal Ministry of Finance (Bundesministerium der Finanzen) addressing partial exemptions available on our website www.aiqunited.com (only in German).

The deadline set for adjusting the investment requirements was 31 December 2018. However, partial exemptions pursuant to Section 20(4) of the InvStG may still be applied if actual minimum investment ratios were reached throughout the calendar year 2018. In this case, it must be determined at the level of the fund or the individual compartments, what the assets consisted of during the calendar year 2018.

Actions to Be Taken:

If no decision has yet been made, it is now time to determine in which form tax-relevant data should be prepared and made available to German investors. Since they require such data to prepare their corporate income tax returns, it should be submitted 1-2 months before the expiry of the filing deadline on 31 May 2019.

AIQUNITED can assist you:

– in preparing tax reporting for German investors;
– by analyzing if a fund qualifies for the partial exemption as “mixed fund”, “equity fund”, or “real estate fund” based on the assets acquired in 2018; or
– by adjusting the investment requirements in order for the fund to be classified as “mixed fund”, “equity fund”, or “real estate fund” in the future.

Deutsches Steuerreporting und Teilfreistellungen für deutsche Investoren

Deutsches Steuerreporting und Teilfreistellungen für deutsche Investoren

Deutsches Steuerreporting und Teilfreistellungen für deutsche Investoren

Nach Einführung des neuen Investmentsteuergesetzes („InvStG“) zum 01.01.2018 sind auf Ebene der in Deutschland ansässigen Investoren die neuen Vorschriften bei der Erstellung der Steuererklärungen für das Veranlagungsjahr 2018 erstmalig zu berücksichtigen.

  1. Übermittlung von relevanten Daten für die deutschen Investoren

Deutsche (steuerpflichtige) Investoren benötigen für ihre Steuererklärung eine Reihe von Informationen, die in den ersten Monaten von 2019 im Rahmen eines Steuer-Reports oder z.B. über die Datenbank des WM-Datenservice den Investoren zugänglich gemacht werden müssen.

Die wichtigsten Informationen im Zusammenhang mit der Besteuerung der deutschen Anleger sind:

  1. Qualifizierung als Publikums-Investmentfonds oder Spezial-Investmentfonds;
  2. Informationen zu den im Kalenderjahr 2018 vorgenommenen Ausschüttungen;
  3. NAV-Berechnung zum Jahresanfang (1. Januar 2018) und Jahresende (31. Dezember 2018);
  4. Berechnung des Basisertrags zur Ermittlung einer eventuellen Thesaurierungsbesteuerung (die „Vorabpauschale“ nach § 18 InvStG);
  5. Qualifizierung des Fonds als „Aktienfonds“, „Mischfonds“, „Immobilienfonds“ oder sonstiger Fonds nach § 2 Abs. 6-9 InvStG (siehe auch unten).
  6. Teilfreistellung von Einkünften der deutschen Investoren nach § 20 InvStG 

Deutsche Investoren können nach den Vorschriften des § 20 InvStG von einer Teilfreistellung ihrer Einkünfte aus dem Investmentfonds profitieren, wenn die Voraussetzungen für einen „Aktienfonds“, „Mischfonds“ oder „Immobilienfonds“ auf Ebene des Investmentfonds (bzw. auf Ebene der Teilvermögen) erfüllt sind. Dabei können Investoren in Aktienfonds und Immobilienfonds von einer Steuerbefreiung von bis zu 80 % rechnen, während bei Mischfonds eine maximale Steuerbefreiung i. H. v. 40 % gewährt werden kann.

Ein Aktienfonds nach § 2 Abs. 6 InvStG legt gemäß Anlagebedingungen mindestens 51 % (bzw. mindestens 50 % für ausländische Fonds) des Wertes seines Aktivvermögens in Kapitalbeteiligungen an, während ein Mischfonds nach § 2 Abs. 7 InvStG gemäß Anlagebedingungen mindestens 25 % seines Aktivvermögens in Kapitalbeteiligungen anlegt. Für eine genaue Definition von Kapitalbeteiligungen verweisen wir auf unseren Newsletter zum BMF-Schreiben zu Teilfreistellungen auf die Website www.aiqunited.com.

Die Frist für die Anpassung der Anlagebedingungen lief bis zum 31. Dezember 2018. Allerdings ist die Anwendung der Teilfreistellungen nach § 20 Abs. 4 InvStG auch gestattet, wenn die tatsächlichen Mindestanlagequoten durchgehend im Kalenderjahr 2018 erreicht wurden. Hier müsste also auf Ebene des Fonds bzw. der einzelnen Compartments geprüft werden, wie sich die Aktiva während des Kalenderjahres 2018 zusammengesetzt haben.

To-dos:

Falls noch keine Entscheidung getroffen wurde, sollte jetzt entschieden werden, in welcher Form die steuerlich relevanten Daten aufbereitet und den deutschen Investoren zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollen. Weil die Daten für die Körperschaftsteuererklärung der deutschen Investoren benötigt werden, sollten sie 1-2 Monate vor Ende der grundsätzlichen Einreichungsfrist am 31. Mai 2019 zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

AIQUNITED kann helfen:

  • Bei der Erstellung eines Steuerreports für deutsche Investoren;
  • Mit einer Analyse über die mögliche Qualifizierung für die Teilfreistellungen als „Mischfonds“, „Aktienfonds“ oder „Immobilienfonds“ auf Basis des Aktivvermögens während 2018, oder
  • Mit einer Anpassung der Anlagebedingungen, um eine zukünftige Einstufung als „Mischfonds“, „Aktienfonds“ oder „Immobilienfonds“ zu ermöglichen.