UPDATE : European Union postpones deadline for “DAC 6”

UPDATE : European Union postpones deadline for “DAC 6”

Commission proposes postponement of taxation rules due to Coronavirus crisis

On 14 May 2020, we already informed about a proposal by the European Commission to postpone the original deadline for DAC 6 notification due to the restrictions during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Luxembourg Ministry of Finance endorsed this proposal in a publication of 4 June 2020 and looked forward to the final decision of the European Council.

 

On 19 June 2020, the European Council, after a consultation with the Member States of the European Union, published an amendment to the DAC 6 Directive 2011/16/EU (https://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-8498-2020-INIT/en/pdf). This gives Member States the possibility to extend the deadline for the reporting obligation by up to six months.

We are now looking forward to the final amendment to the reporting obligations under the law of 25 March 2020 in Luxembourg.

 

 

 

European Union postpones deadline for “DAC 6”

With its proposal of 8 May 2020 (“Proposal”), the European Commission (“EC”) suggested to postpone the original DAC 6 reporting timeline in recognition of the impact of COVID-19 on the performance of businesses and European Member States.

 

Background:

As announced in our newsletter dated 28 January 2019, Directive 2018/822/EU (generally referred to as “DAC 6”) and amending Directive 2011/16/EU is an EU anti-tax avoidance measure that requires intermediaries and ultimately taxpayers across the EU to report information in relation to certain reportable cross-border arrangements to their local tax authorities. DAC 6 was implemented by the Luxembourg law of 25 March 2020 and the German law of 21 December 2019. An overview of the regulations under DAC 6 can be found in our newsletter at https://aiqunited.com/en/aenderungsrichtlinie-2018-822-eu-dac-6-in-luxemburg/.

Proposal:

In its Proposal, the EC is recommending a three-month postponement – with the ability to extend the postponement by an additional three months – to various reporting requirements. In particular, the following postponements are proposed for DAC 6:

  • 1 July 2020:
    DAC 6 law will enter into force as from 1 July 2020.
  • 1 October 2020:
    The beginning of the period of 30 days for reporting reportable cross-border arrangements implemented after 1 July 2020 will be postponed from 1 July 2020 to
    1 October 2020.
  • 30 November 2020:
    The date for reporting cross-border arrangements that became reportable from 25 June 2018 to 30 June 2020 will be postponed from 31 August 2020 to
    30 November 2020.
  • 31 January 2021:
    The date for the first exchange of information on reportable cross-border arrangements between European Member States will be postponed from 31 October 2020 to 31 January 2021.

Neither the Luxembourg nor the German legislator has commented on the EC Proposal or the postponement of its local DAC 6 deadlines. We will keep you updated.

UPDATE : Europäische Komission verschiebt Frist für “DAC 6”

UPDATE : Europäische Komission verschiebt Frist für “DAC 6”

Kommission schlägt Verschiebung der Meldepflicht aufgrund der Coronavirus-Krise vor

Am 14 Mai 2020 informierten wir bereits über einen Vorschlag der Europäische Kommission die ursprüngliche Frist für die DAC 6-Meldung auf Grund der Einschränkungen während der COVID-19 Pandemie zu verschieben. Das luxemburgische Finanzministerium befürwortete diesen Vorschlag in einer Veröffentlichung vom 4 Juni 2020 und sah der finalen Entscheidung des Europäischen Rates gespannt entgegen.

 

Am 19 Juni 2020, hat der Europäische Rat nach einer Konsultation mit den Mitgliedstaaten der europäischen Union eine Änderungsrichtlinie der DAC 6 Richtlinie 2011/16/EU veröffentlicht (https://data.consilium.europa.eu/doc/document/ST-8498-2020-INIT/en/pdf).  Die Mitgliedstaaten haben damit die Möglichkeit die Frist für die Meldepflicht um bis zu sechs Monate zu verlängern.

Wir sehen nunmehr dem finalen Anpassungsgesetz zu den Meldepflichten nach dem Gesetz vom 25. März 2020 in Luxemburg entgegen.

 

 

Europäische Komission verschiebt Frist für “DAC 6”

Am 8. Mai 2020 schlug die Europäische Kommission („EC“) allen Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union vor („Vorschlag“), die ursprüngliche Frist für die DAC 6-Meldung zu verschieben, um die Auswirkungen von COVID-19 auf die Leistungsfähigkeit von Unternehmen und den europäischen Mitgliedstaaten zu berücksichtigen.

Hintergrund:

Wie in unserem Newsletter vom 28. Januar 2019 angekündigt, handelt es sich bei der Änderungsrichtlinie 2018/82/EU (allgemein als „DAC 6“ bezeichnet) zur Richtlinie 2011/16/EU um eine EU-Maßnahme zur Vermeidung von Steuern, die in der EU ansässige Vermittler und zuletzt Steuerzahler in der ganzen Welt verpflichtet, Informationen in Bezug auf bestimmte meldepflichtige grenzüberschreitende Vereinbarungen an ihre lokalen Steuerbehörden zu melden. DAC 6 wurde durch das luxemburgische Gesetz vom 25. März 2020 und das deutsche Gesetz vom 21. Dezember 2019 umgesetzt. Eine Übersicht über die Bestimmungen unter DAC 6 finden Sie in unserem Newsletter unter https://aiqunited.com/aenderungsrichtlinie-2018-822-eu-dac-6-in-luxemburg/.

Vorschlag:

In ihrem Vorschlag empfiehlt die EC eine Verschiebung der Fristen auf verschiedene Berichtspflichten um drei Monate – mit der Möglichkeit, die Verschiebung um weitere drei Monate zu verlängern. Insbesondere werden für DAC 6 die folgenden verlängerten Fristen vorgeschlagen:

  • Juli 2020:
    Das DAC 6-Gesetz tritt am 1. Juli 2020 in Kraft.
  • Oktober 2020:
    Der Beginn des Zeitraums von 30 Tagen für die Meldung meldepflichtiger grenzüberschreitender Vereinbarungen, die nach dem 1. Juli 2020 umgesetzt wurden, wird vom 1. Juli 2020 auf den 1. Oktober 2020 verschoben.
  • November 2020:
    Der Termin für die Meldung grenzüberschreitender Vereinbarungen, der vom 25. Juni 2018 bis zum 30. Juni 2020 meldepflichtig wurde, wird vom 31. August 2020 auf den 30. November 2020 verschoben.
  • Januar 2021:
    Der Termin für den ersten Informationsaustausch über meldepflichtige grenzüberschreitende Vereinbarungen zwischen europäischen Mitgliedstaaten wird vom
    31. Oktober 2020 auf den 31. Januar 2021 verschoben.

Sowohl der luxemburgische als auch der deutsche Gesetzgeber äußerten sich bisher nicht zu dem Vorschlag und den Fristverlängerungen der EC. Wir werden Sie über aktuelle Diskussionen informieren.