Commercial Court submits regulations regarding Register of Beneficial Owners to ECJ for interpretation

Commercial Court submits regulations regarding Register of Beneficial Owners to ECJ for interpretation

AIQUNITED is providing information on a decision of the Luxemburg Commercial Court to submit questions in relation to Art. 15, Section 1 of the RBO Law to the European Court of Justice (“ECJ”). Art. 15 of the RBO Law restricts access to the Register of Beneficial Owners (the “RBO”) to public authorities, notaries and financial institutions.
The submission concerns the interpretation of certain terms with regard to the restriction of access to the RBO. The Court considers parts of the terminology of Art. 15, Section 1 of the RBO Law as not sufficiently precise. Furthermore, the Court points out variations in the official translations of the Directive (EU) 2015/849 on the prevention of the use of the financial system for the purposes of money laundering or terrorist financing (the “Directive 2015/849”). In the interest of legal clarity and consistent interpretation and application throughout the EU, the Court decided to submit its questions to the ECJ.
For the duration of the proceeding, the public’s access to the data concerned remains restricted.

Background:

The Luxembourg Law of 13 January 2019 establishing a Register of Beneficial Owners (the “RBO Law”) implements Directive 2015/849 into Luxemburg law. The RBO Law entered into force on 1 March 2019. It requires all entities registered in the Luxembourg Trade and Companies Register to disclose the identity of their Ultimate Beneficial Owners.
Generally, the disclosed data is accessible by the public. In accordance with Directive 2015/849, Art. 15 of the RBO Law provides for restricted access limited to public authorities, notaries and financial institutions. The restriction is available upon written request and granted based on exceptional circumstances as defined in Art. 15 of the RBO Law.
In March 2019, AIQUNITED requested such a restriction on behalf of some of our clients. The RBO declined this request. Appeals of the decisions were filed in 2019 on behalf of our clients before the competent Luxembourg court. The court decided to submit certain questions concerning a) the interpretation of Art. 15 of the RBO Law and b) variations in the official translations of the Directive 2015/849 to the ECJ in order to obtain clarification as to application of certain terms of Art. 15 of the RBO Law and to achieve a uniform application of these terms throughout the EU.

Contact us for more detailed information on issues relating to the RBO Law.

Handelsgericht legt dem EuGH Bestimmungen des Transparenzregisters zur Auslegung vor

Handelsgericht legt dem EuGH Bestimmungen des Transparenzregisters zur Auslegung vor

AIQUNITED informiert über eine Entscheidung des lux. Handelsregisters, Auslegungsfragen im Zusammenhang mit Art. 15 Abs. 1 des RBE-Gesetzes dem Europäischen Gerichtshof (der „EuGH“) vorzulegen. Art. 15 des RBE-Gesetzes regelt die Begrenzung der Einsichtnahme in das Transparenzregister auf öffentliche Stellen, Notare und Finanzinstitute.
Bei der Vorlage geht es um die Auslegung von Bestimmungen im Zusammenhang mit dem begrenzten Einsichtsrecht in das Transparenzregister. Das Gericht hält einige Bestimmungen des Art. 15 Abs. 1 RBE-Gesetz für nicht hinreichend präzise. Des Weiteren weist das Gericht auf voneinander abweichende Übersetzungen der zugrunde liegenden Richtlinie (EU) 2015/849 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates zur Verhinderung der Nutzung des Finanzsystems zum Zwecke der Geldwäsche und der Terrorismusfinanzierung (die „Richtlinie 2015/849“) hin. Im Interesse der Rechtsklarheit und einer EU-weiten einheitlichen Auslegung hat das Gericht entschieden, den EuGH um Klärung zu ersuchen.
Während der Verfahrensdauer bleibt der Zugang für die Öffentlichkeit zu den Daten unserer Mandanten beschränkt.

Hintergrund:

Das luxemburgische Gesetz vom 13. Januar 2019 zur Einrichtung eines Registers der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer (das „RBE-Gesetz“) setzt die Richtlinie 2015/849 in Luxemburger Recht um. Das RBE-Gesetz trat am 1. März 2019 in Kraft und verpflichtet die im Handels- und Gesellschaftsregister gemeldeten Gesellschaften, die Identität ihrer wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer zu hinterlegen.
Grundsätzlich sind die hinterlegten Daten unbeschränkt öffentlich zugänglich. Das RBE-Gesetz erlaubt in Ausnahmefällen in Einklang mit der Richtlinie 2015/849 in Art. 15 RBE-Gesetz eine Beschränkung des Zugangs zu diesen Daten auf öffentliche Stellen, Notare und Finanzinstitute.
Nachdem wir im März 2019 für einige unserer Mandanten einen Antrag auf Zugangsbeschränkung gestellt haben, wurde dieser vom RBE abgelehnt. Diese Entscheidung des RBE haben wir im Auftrag unserer Mandanten vor dem zuständigen luxemburgischen Gericht angefochten. Das Gericht hat entschieden, dem EuGH im Zusammenhang mit unseren Einsprüchen Vorabentscheidungsfragen zu stellen, welche aus Sicht des Gerichts zur Entscheidung über die Anträge bzw. Anfechtungen wesentlich und für eine einheitliche, EU-weite Anwendung der Richtlinie 2015/849 notwendig sind.

Gerne informieren wir sie ausführlicher zu Fragen im Zusammenhang mit dem RBE-Gesetz.