In Light of Recent Events: The AIFM Will Also Have to Express an Interest in the Pre-Marketing of “Its” AIFs in the Future

In Light of Recent Events: The AIFM Will Also Have to Express an Interest in the Pre-Marketing of “Its” AIFs in the Future

Background:

Following the proposal of the European Commission for a Directive of the European Parliament and of the Council amending Directive 2009/65/EC [UCITS] of the European Parliament and of the Council and Directive 2011/61/EU [AIFMD] of the European Parliament and of the Council with regard to cross-border distribution of collective investment funds (2018/0041 (COD)[1], published on 12 March 2018, we know that the EU Commission intends “to simplify” the marketing of AIFs within the European Union.

The EU Commission aims to eliminate existing regulatory barriers to the cross-border distribution of investment funds in the EU.[2] The objective of the proposed Directive is to reduce cross-border distribution costs for the AIFMs, harmonize divergent marketing requirements set by the Member States, address the different regulatory fees, and standardize the administrative and notification requirements. As a result, the EU Commission expects the implementation of this Proposal to increase competition of investment fund products in the EU and thus help to give investors more choice and better value.[3] Therefore, the EU Commission is seeking, inter alia, to regulate the so-called pre-marketing laid down in Article 4 of the AIFMD throughout the EU in a uniform manner and to prevent the possibility to rely on reverse solicitation after pre-marketing.[4]

However, it remains questionable whether this “harmonization” will actually result in a “simplification” for the AIFMs as well as for the initiators. Given that pre-marketing has not been considered marketing in accordance with point (x) of Article 4(1) of the AIFMD up to now, in Germany, for example, such activity was therefore not covered by the term “marketing” under KAGB (German Investment Code).[5] Thus, depending on national law, pre-marketing activities may also be currently performed by an initiator (comparable with the former “private placement”). If the EU Commission’s Proposal is implemented, this is probably going to change.

Summary:

  • The EU Commission wants to harmonize and simplify pre-marketing activities.
  • Hence, under certain circumstances, pre-marketing would fall within the definition of “marketing” laid down in the AIFMD.
  • This means that, in addition to its responsibility for the marketing of AIFs under current law, the AIFM would also be responsible for the pre-marketing activities.
  • Initiators must ask themselves whether they can even still engage in pre-marketing activities without the AIFMs.

Proposal for Defining the Term Pre-Marketing Laid down in Article 4 of the AIFMD

The EU Commission proposes to include a definition of the term “pre-marketing” in Article 4(1) of Directive 2011/61/EU. This is due to the fact that the EU has determined that EU Member States have been interpreting the term “pre-marketing” in different ways and thus have different requirements for its application.[6] Article 2 of the Proposal stipulates that in the future, pre-marketing should be defined at EU level as follows:

a direct or indirect provision of information on investment strategies or investment ideas by an AIFM or on its behalf to professional investors domiciled or registered in the Union in order to test their interest in an AIF which is not yet established.

In particular, the objective is to ensure throughout the EU that pre-marketing does not:

  • relate to an established AIF;
  • contain reference to an established AIF;
  • enable investors to commit to acquiring units or shares of a particular AIF;
  • include a prospectus, constitutional documents of a not-yet-established AIF, offering documents, subscription forms or similar documents whether in a draft or a final form, suitable to allow investors to take an investment decision.[7]

At the same time, the Proposal requires that the subscription by an investor to units or shares in an AIF following the pre-marketing for that AIF or even for an AIF with similar features should be considered the result of marketing and not the result of pre-marketing. This would mean that even for pre-marketing activities pursuant to the provisions of the Proposal, such pre-marketing, if successful, should be subject to the marketing provisions set out in the AIFMD. The reason behind this subsequent fictitious idea of a subscription to be considered the result of marketing – even though the subscription was “only” realized in response to pre-marketing activities – is to protect professional (!) investors from the circumvention of the protective provisions set forth in the AIFMD.[8]

AIFM Will Be Faced with Additional Requirements

It is the AIFM who must ensure that these protective provisions of the AIFMD for the professional investor are applied. According to sentence 1 of Article 5(1) of the AIFMD, each AIFM is required to ensure full compliance with the provisions laid down in the AIFMD. Article 5(1) of the AIFMD defines this obligation without any limitations and without taking into account the scope of the license of the AIFM. It is therefore irrelevant whether the AIFM’s license covers the activities in question set out in Annex I of the AIFMD.[9] The AIFM remains responsible for the compliance of these activities with the provisions of the AIFMD regardless. The activities covered relating to the AIFs are mentioned in Annex I of the AIFMD and include the marketing of fund units or shares.[10] In 2016, ESMA already confirmed that the responsibility of the AIFM to ensure compliance with the provisions laid down in the AIFMD includes all activities listed in Annex I, which also encompasses marketing. According to the interpretation given by ESMA and the EU Commission, this obligation applies, irrespective of whether the activities are offered by the AIFM itself or not.[11] In cases where the AIFM does not itself perform the activities set out in Annex I of the AIFMD, ESMA considers such activities as having been delegated to a third party.[12] Accordingly, the provisions for delegated functions referred to in particular in Article 20 of the AIFMD apply.[13]

 

The CSSF incorporates the interpretation of ESMA and the EU Commission into its own interpretation of the AIFMD as part of its own FAQs. Hence, ESMA’s and the EU Commission’s understanding of the AIFMD also reflects the interpretation of the law applicable in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg provided by the CSSF.[14]

CONCLUSION:

Currently, the AIFM is already responsible for marketing “its” AIF units or shares as laid down in Article 5 of the AIFMD. In other words, under applicable law, the responsibility of the AIFM extends to established AIFs that are actively offered to investors by either the AIFM itself or through delegated marketing. The AIFM must ensure that the marketing of an established AIF is compliant with the AIFMD – either by performing the marketing activities itself or, when delegating such activities, by monitoring the distribution partners in charge of the AIF, while adhering to the delegation provisions set out in the AIFMD, in particular in Article 20 of the AIFMD.

If the EU Commission’s Proposal is implemented, this responsibility will in future also encompass the marketing of AIFs not yet established – whatever form that may take on a case-by-case basis. At the same time, initiators will have to determine whether they themselves will be authorized to perform pre-marketing activities at all. We will have to wait and see if these new requirements really simplify things.

Should you have any questions regarding the responsibilities of AIFMs, the implementation of supervisory procedures as part of the delegation of certain activities as defined in Annex I of the AIFMD or the AIFMD in general, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

Harald Strelen
+352 26202332

office@aiqunited.com www.aiqunited.com

Legal note: AIQUNITED, 1C, rue Gabriel Lippmann  L-5365 Munsbach

[1] http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/PDF/?uri=CONSIL:ST_6988_2018_INIT&qid=1522076382359&from=EN (the “Proposal“)

[2] Ibidem, „Context of the proposal“.

[3] Ibidem.

[4] Ibidem, recital 11.

[5] See BaFIN in https://www.bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/FAQ/faq_kagb_vertrieb_erwerb_130604.html (German version).

[6] Proposal, recital 10.

[7] Proposal, Article 2.

[8] Proposal, page 10.

[9] FAQs of the EU Commission, page 4, https://ec.europa.eu/info/sites/info/files/aifmd-commission-questions-answers_en.pdf, also referred to in the FAQs of the CSSF under Preliminary Remarks, page 3.

[10] Please see Annex I of the AIMFD, available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32011L0061.

[11] ESMA Q&A on the AIFMD, page 36, Section VIII: Delegation, Question 2. https://www.esma.europa.eu/sites/default/files/library/esma34-32-352_qa_aifmd.pdf; see footnote 7.

[12] ESMA Q&A on the AIFMD, page 36, Section VIII: Delegation, Question 2.

[13] Ibidem.

[14] Please see the CSSF’s Preliminary Remarks listed in its FAQs on page 3: http://www.cssf.lu/fileadmin/files/AIFM/FAQ_AIFMD.pdf

Aus gegebenem Anlass: Der AIFM wird sich wohl in Zukunft auch für das Pre-Marketing „seiner“ AIF interessieren müssen

Aus gegebenem Anlass: Der AIFM wird sich wohl in Zukunft auch für das Pre-Marketing „seiner“ AIF interessieren müssen

Hintergrund:

Seit dem Vorschlag der Europäischen Kommission für eine Richtlinie des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates zur Änderung der Richtlinie 2009/65/EG [OGAW] des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates und der Richtlinie 2011/61/EU [AIFMD] des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates im Hinblick auf den grenzüberschreitenden Vertrieb von Investmentfonds (2018/0041 (COD)[1], veröffentlicht am 12. März 2018, wissen wir, dass die EU-Kommission vorhat, den Vertrieb von AIF innerhalb der Europäischen Union „zu vereinfachen“.

Ziel der EU-Kommission ist es, bestehende regulatorische Hindernisse für den grenzüberschreitenden Vertrieb von Investmentfonds in der EU abzubauen.[2] Der Richtlinienvorschlag soll Kosten des grenzüberschreitenden Vertriebs für die AIFM reduzieren, unterschiedliche Vertriebsanforderungen der Mitgliedstaaten vereinheitlichen, auf die verschiedenen behördlichen Gebühren eingehen sowie die Verwaltungsanforderungen und Anzeigepflichten vereinheitlichen. Im Ergebnis erwartet die EU-Kommission von der Umsetzung dieses Vorschlags mehr Wettbewerb von Investmentfondsprodukten in der EU und damit eine größere Auswahl für die Anleger und ein besseres Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.[3] Dazu strebt die EU-Kommission unter anderem an, das sog. Pre-Marketing  im Sinne von Artikel 4 AIFMD EU-weit einheitlich zu regulieren und die Möglichkeit, sich auf reverse solicitation im Anschluss an das Pre-Marketing zu berufen, zu untersagen.[4]

Fraglich bleibt dabei jedoch, ob diese „Vereinheitlichung“ tatsächlich auch zu einer „Vereinfachung“ für die AIFM – aber auch für Initiatoren – führen wird. Da bisher Pre-Marketing keinen Vertrieb im Sinne des Artikels 4 Abs. 1 (x) AIFMD darstellt, war diese Tätigkeit zum Beispiel in Deutschland nicht vom Begriff des „Vertriebs“ im Sinne des KAGB umfasst.[5] Pre-Marketing kann somit aktuell – je nach nationalem Recht – z. B. auch von einem Initiator vorgenommen werden, vergleichbar mit dem früheren „private placement“. Das wird sich, sollte der Vorschlag der EU-Kommission umgesetzt werden, wohl ändern.

Zusammenfassung:

  • Die EU-Kommission möchte Pre-Marketing vereinheitlichen und vereinfachen.
  • Pre-Marketing würde danach in bestimmten Konstellationen unter die Definition des Begriffs „Vertrieb“ im Sinne der AIFMD fallen.
  • Damit wäre der AIFM neben seiner bereits nach aktuellem Recht bestehenden Verantwortung für den Vertrieb von AIF auch für das Pre-Marketing verantwortlich.
  • Ein Initiator müsste sich die Frage stellen, ob er überhaupt noch Pre-Marketing ohne AIFM betreiben kann.

Vorschlag der Konkretisierung des Begriffs Pre-Marketing im Sinne des Artikels 4 AIFMD

Die EU-Kommission schlägt vor, in Artikel 4 Absatz 1 der Richtlinie 2011/61/EU eine Definition des Begriffs „Pre-Marketing“ aufzunehmen. Hintergrund ist, dass die EU festgestellt hat, dass die EU-Mitgliedstaaten den Begriff „Pre-Marketing“ bisher unterschiedlich auslegen und damit unterschiedliche Anforderungen an dessen Anwendung stellen.[6] Artikel 2 des Vorschlags sieht vor, Pre-Marketing EU-weit in Zukunft wie folgt zu definieren:

die durch einen AIFM oder in dessen Auftrag erfolgende direkte oder indirekte Bereitstellung von Informationen über Anlagestrategien oder Anlagekonzepte an professionelle Anleger mit Wohnsitz oder satzungsmäßigem Sitz in der Union mit dem Ziel festzustellen, inwieweit diese Interesse an einem noch nicht registrierten AIF haben.“

Insbesondere soll in Zukunft EU-weit ausgeschlossen werden, dass Pre-Marketing

  • einen bereits bestehenden AIF betrifft;
  • Verweise auf einen bereits bestehenden AIF enthält;
  • Anleger in die Lage versetzt, sich zum Erwerb von Anteilen eines bestimmten AIF zu verpflichten;
  • Prospekte, Gründungsdokumente eines noch nicht registrierten AIF, Angebotsunterlagen, Zeichnungsformulare oder ähnliche Dokumente umfasst, und zwar unabhängig davon, ob sie in einem Entwurf oder in endgültiger Form vorliegen, die dazu geeignet sind, die Anleger in die Lage zu versetzen, eine Anlageentscheidung zu treffen.[7]

Gleichzeitig verlangt der Vorschlag, dass die von einem Anleger vorgenommene Zeichnung von Anteilen an einem AIF im Anschluss an Pre-Marketing für diesen AIF oder auch für einen AIF mit vergleichbaren Merkmalen als Vertriebsergebnis und nicht als Resultat von Pre-Marketing angesehen werden soll. Das würde bedeuten, dass selbst im Fall von Pre-Marketing gemäß den Vorgaben des Vorschlags dieses Pre-Marketing im Erfolgsfall den Vertriebsvorgaben der AIFMD unterworfen werden soll. Hintergrund dieser nachträglichen Fiktion eines Vertriebsergebnisses, obwohl Auslöser der Zeichnung „nur“ ein Pre-Marketing war, ist der Schutz der professionellen (!) Anleger vor einer Umgehung der Schutzvorschriften der AIFMD.[8]

Es kommen weitere Anforderungen auf den AIFM zu

Die Gewährleistung dieser Schutzvorschriften für den gefährdeten professionellen Anleger ist durch den AIFM sicherzustellen. Artikel 5 Abs. 1 S. 1 AIFMD verpflichtet jeden AIFM dazu, die Einhaltung der Vorgaben der AIFMD sicherzustellen – und zwar umfassend. Artikel 5 Abs. 1 AIFMD definiert diese Pflicht ohne Einschränkungen und ohne Berücksichtigung des Umfangs der Lizenz des AIFM. Ob die Lizenz des AIFM die fraglichen Tätigkeiten im Sinne des Anhangs I AIFMD umfasst, ist somit irrelevant für die Frage der Verantwortlichkeit des AIFM für diese Tätigkeiten.[9] Die erfassten Tätigkeiten rund um die AIF werden zusammenfassend in Anhang I der AIFMD genannt und schließen den Vertrieb der Fondsanteile ein.[10] Die ESMA hat bereits 2016 bestätigt, dass die Verantwortung des AIFM, die Einhaltung der Vorgaben der AIFMD sicherzustellen, sich auf alle in Anhang I genannten Tätigkeiten erstreckt und damit auch den Vertrieb umfasst. Diese Pflicht besteht nach Auslegung der ESMA und der EU-Kommission unabhängig davon, ob die Tätigkeiten von dem AIFM selbst überhaupt angeboten werden oder nicht.[11] In Fällen, in denen der AIFM die in Anhang I der AIFMD genannten Tätigkeiten nicht selbst ausübt, gelten diese nach Auslegung der ESMA als an eine dritte Partei delegiert.[12] Dementsprechend gelten die Vorgaben an delegierte Funktionen im Sinne von Artikel 20 AIFMD.[13] Die CSSF integriert die Auslegung der ESMA und der EU-Kommission in ihre eigene Auslegung der AIFMD im Rahmen der eigenen FAQ. Somit stellt das Verständnis der AIFMD durch die ESMA und die EU-Kommission zugleich die Interpretation des im Großherzogtum Luxemburg geltenden Rechts durch die CSSF dar.[14]

ERGEBNIS:

Schon jetzt ist der AIFM für den Vertrieb „seiner“ AIF-Anteile gemäß Artikel 5 AIFMD verantwortlich. Mit anderen Worten erstreckt sich die Verantwortung des AIFM nach aktuellem Recht auf bestehende AIF, die durch den AIFM selbst oder einen beauftragten Vertrieb Anlegern aktiv angeboten werden. Der AIFM hat sicherzustellen, dass dieser Vertrieb eines bestehenden AIF AIFMD-konform erfolgt. Er kann dies selbst umsetzen, indem er selbst den Vertrieb übernimmt, oder im Rahmen einer Delegation die Vertriebspartner für die AIF unter Beachtung der Vorgaben der AIFMD für die Delegation, insbesondere Artikel 20 AIFMD, überwachen.

Wird der Vorschlag der EU-Kommission umgesetzt, wird diese Verantwortung in Zukunft auch den Vertrieb von noch gar nicht aufgelegten AIF umfassen – wie auch immer das im Einzelfall aussehen mag. Gleichzeitig werden sich Initiatoren überlegen müssen, ob sie dann noch selbst ein Pre-Marketing durchführen dürfen. Ob diese neuen Anforderungen wirklich zu einer Vereinfachung führen werden, bleibt abzuwarten.

Haben Sie Fragen zu der Verantwortlichkeit des AIFM, der Ausgestaltung seiner Überwachungsaufgaben im Rahmen einer Delegation oder ganz allgemein zur AIFMD? Sprechen Sie uns an.

 

Harald Strelen
+352 26202332

office@aiqunited.comwww.aiqunited.com

Impressum: AIQUNITED, 1C, rue Gabriel Lippmann  L-5365 Munsbach

[1] https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/TXT/PDF/?uri=CONSIL:ST_6988_2018_INIT&qid=1522076382359&from=EN (der „Vorschlag“)

[2] Ebenda, „Kontext des Vorschlags“.

[3] Ebenda.

[4] Ebenda, Erwägungsgrund 11.

[5] Vgl. BaFIN in https://www.bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/FAQ/faq_kagb_vertrieb_erwerb_130604.html.

[6] Vorschlag, Erwägungsgrund 10.

[7] Vorschlag, Artikel 2.

[8] Vorschlag, Seite 10.

[9] FAQ der EU-Kommission, Seite 4, https://ec.europa.eu/info/sites/info/files/aifmd-commission-questions-answers_en.pdf, auf welche die FAQ der CSSF ebenfalls in Preliminary Remarks, Seite 3, verweisen.

[10] Wir verweisen auf Anhang I der AIFMD, abrufbar unter: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32011L0061.

[11] ESMA Q&A AIFMD, Seite 36, Section VIII: Delegation, Question 2. https://www.esma.europa.eu/sites/default/files/library/esma34-32-352_qa_aifmd.pdf; vgl. Fn. 7.

[12] ESMA Q&A AIFMD, Seite 36, Section VIII: Delegation, Question 2.

[13] Ebenda.

[14] Wir verweisen auf die Preliminary Remarks, Seite 3, der CSSF zu ihren FAQ: https://www.cssf.lu/fileadmin/files/AIFM/FAQ_AIFMD.pdf