Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive II – Luxembourg Implements ATAD II Directive

Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive II – Luxembourg Implements ATAD II Directive

Executive Summary

With the law of 20 December 2019[1], Luxembourg has implemented the EU Directive ATAD II into national law with effect from 1 January 2020 by Articles 168ter and 168quater of L.I.R.[2] The directive as well as the law are intended to address so-called “hybrid mismatches” between associated enterprises and, in general, to take stronger action against tax-saving schemes (“structured arrangements”) and dual resident companies, which result in tax advantages for cross-border structures. The law aims to eliminate mismatches in tax outcomes that arise from double tax deductions of payments or from tax deduction of a payment without inclusion on the recipient side. Payments of arrangements that fall within the scope of the law are therefore either not tax deductible or can only be deducted one time. A payee benefitting from a tax exemption, for example, as in the case of payments made to investment funds, or because the payment is subject to preferential taxation at the payee’s end, should not give rise to mismatches in tax outcomes. In addition, Luxembourg has removed investment funds with the legal form of partnerships from the scope of the provisions on “reverse hybrid mismatches”. Upon request of the tax authorities, the companies concerned must be able to prove, by submitting suitable documents, that no hybrid mismatch exists or that the various scopes of the law do not apply. In this context, we recommend to analyze if the law might affect any existing structures.

 

History and Introduction to ATAD II

Triggered by the financial crisis in 2008, the OECD, on the initiative of the G20 countries, published 15 potential national and international action points in 2015 to prevent profit shifting between countries and thus to ensure that taxation takes place in the country in which value is created (“BEPS Measures”[3]). In order to implement parts of the BEPS Measures taken at OECD level in the EU Member States, the European Council adopted the Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive on 12 July 2016[4] (“ATAD I”) and its successor on 29 May 2017[5] (“ATAD II”). In Luxembourg, the provisions of ATAD I were implemented on 1 January 2019 with the law of 21 December 2018 (no. 7318) and the new Article 168bis of L.I.R. With the law of 20 December 2019[6], Luxembourg implemented the EU Directive ATAD II into national law with effect from 1 January 2020 by Articles 168ter and 168quater of L.I.R.[7]

 

While ATAD I dealt with measures against tax structuring by implementing an interest limitation rule, provisions on exit taxation, general anti-abuse rules, and CFC rules (see also our newsletter dated 12 December 2018 at www.aiqunited.com/blog), ATAD II as well as the law mainly aim to address cross-border “hybrid mismatches” of associated enterprises resulting in double tax deductions of payments or a tax deduction without inclusion in the country of the payee (“mismatches”). In addition, action is to be taken against “tax-saving schemes” (in the Directive, they are referred to as “structured arrangements”) and against tax optimization in respect of dual resident companies.

Hybrid Financial Instruments and Companies in General

Financial instruments that have features of both debt and equity are generally referred to as “hybrid financial instruments”. In the case of cross-border financing between associated enterprises, it is now possible that one country may consider the financial instrument in question to be equity while the other country regards it as debt. As such, remuneration on the instrument may, on one hand, qualify as interest and, on the other hand, as a dividend, which may result in the interest payments in the payer country being a tax-deductible expense but may be in the country of the payee deemed a tax-exempt dividend (“mismatch”).

Hybrid entities exist in an international context, e.g. if a partnership having foreign shareholders is considered a corporation in the company’s country of residence (potentially for tax purposes only). As a result, as far as taxation of profits is concerned, the partnership may not be taxed in the country of its registered office as it is not a taxable entity in this country; instead, its foreign shareholders are regarded as taxable entities (this is known as “transparency” for tax purposes). But, as a general rule, they cannot be taxed by the country of their registered office because they are resident abroad. However, in our example, from the point of view of the country of residence of the shareholders, the foreign partnership is considered a corporation and thus a taxable entity in the country of its registered office. Therefore, the shareholders’ country of residence will not tax the shareholders. This can lead to the situation that neither the country in which the registered office is located nor the country of residence of the company will tax the income of the partnership.

The reasons for hybrid financial instruments lie in the fact that there is no uniform definition of equity or debt capital at international level, and that there is no higher-level (tax) legal system for companies.

 

Affected Companies

In addition to companies subject to corporate tax in Luxembourg, the law also applies to permanent establishments of corporations that are resident for tax purposes in a country outside of Luxembourg, including third countries.

Furthermore, Luxembourg partnerships may also fall within the scope of the law if they are treated as corporations under the rules of the shareholders’ foreign country of residence (“reverse hybrid mismatches”).

 

Hybrid Mismatches and Associated Enterprises

Hybrid Mismatches

The objective of the law and the Directive is to address “mismatches” in tax outcomes (double deduction of payments, deduction of payments and non-inclusion on the recipient side) in associated enterprises that arise from cross-border hybrid mismatches. If an arrangement falls within the scope of the law, the mismatches are eliminated by restrictions on deduction or unilateral taxation.

 

The law distinguishes between the following categories of hybrid mismatches, which can be broken down into several groups:

 

a) Payments for (hybrid) financial instruments

For example, this is the case if a payment made by a corporation resident in Luxembourg is deductible as a tax-deducting business expense in the form of interest expense, but the recipient considers it to be a dividend that is tax-exempt under the national legislation of the recipient’s country of residence.

However, according to the law, mismatches do not arise if the reason for the tax reduction is based on the tax status of the payee (e.g. exempt investment fund), or if the payee’s income is subject to a preferential (tax) regime.

 

b) Payments to or from a hybrid entity

When payments are made to a hybrid entity, mismatches may arise if cross-border payments to a hybrid entity are allocated differently by the countries involved. The country in which the hybrid enterprise has its registered office as the payee allocates the payment to the shareholders of the hybrid enterprise; the country of the shareholders of the hybrid enterprise allocates the payment to the hybrid enterprise. A mismatch arises from a deduction without inclusion.

Mismatches in payments from a hybrid enterprise may arise because the hybrid enterprise making payments to its shareholder is deemed a corporation in the country of its registered office but is considered a partnership in the country of its shareholder where the payment is not taken into account for tax purposes.

 

c) Payments to a company with permanent establishment(s)

These arrangements are subject to conflicts of allocation of payments. An example of such arrangements is interest payments made by an enterprise to a (foreign) permanent establishment of an associated enterprise (parent company). From the perspective of the country of the payer, this is a deductible interest payment. From the perspective of the country of the associated enterprise (parent company), the payment is to be allocated to the permanent establishment and is therefore not taxable. From the perspective of the country in which the permanent establishment is located, the payment is to be allocated to the parent company. This results in a mismatch due to deduction and non-inclusion.

 

d) Payments to disregarded permanent establishments or deemed payments between the head office and the permanent establishment or between permanent establishments

For payments to a disregarded permanent establishment, the same circumstances apply as mentioned in point c). However, the difference is that the permanent establishment does not exist at all from the point of view of the country in which it is located, only from the point of view of the parent company, which allocates the payment to this permanent establishment (which in its view exists).

Deemed payments between a permanent establishment or head office may be imposed by national tax regulations under which payments made by a permanent establishment are tax deductible but do not generate an inflow of capital for the recipient.

 

e) Imported mismatches

These are tax-deductible payments for a non-hybrid (financial) instrument made by Luxembourg companies to one or more associated enterprises in a third country that have entered into a hybrid mismatch abroad. Payments are not eligible as tax deductions in Luxembourg if, whether directly or indirectly, they result in the financing of hybrid structures in other countries, and the third country involved has not yet neutralized the hybrid mismatch itself pursuant to national regulations.

 

Associated Enterprises

Associated enterprises are those where one enterprise (or taxpayer) has effective control over another enterprise. Examples are a direct or indirect capital ownership or voting rights of 50% or more, or a right to receive a share of profits of at least 50%. This also includes companies in a consolidated group or companies where the taxpayer can exercise significant control over the management.

 

If the hybrid mismatch is a payment under a financial instrument, the 50% limit will be reduced to 25%.

 

A person who acts together with another person in respect of the voting rights or capital ownership of an entity shall be treated as holding a participation in all of the voting rights or capital ownership of that entity that are held by the other person. However, in the case of participations in investment funds, this applies only if the person or entity holds, either directly or indirectly, at least 10% of the shares, and if the profit participation right is at least 10%. This should apply subject to evidence to the contrary.

 

It is important to note that the law also applies without the existence of associated enterprises if a “structured arrangement” is in place. This is the case if the two companies that are not associated with each other are aware of the tax consequences, and the arrangement was ultimately designed for tax purposes.

 

Reverse Hybrid Mismatches

In addition to the above-mentioned provisions of Article 168ter of L.I.R., the new provision of Article 168quater of L.I.R. has entered into force and addresses so-called reverse hybrid mismatches. These exist if companies with a majority shareholding in a Luxembourg partnership (hybrid entities) are resident in another country (EU or third country) in which, contrary to the classification in Luxembourg, this partnership is considered a taxable entity.

The objective is to avoid double non-taxation. By amending Article 4 of the Luxembourg Wealth Tax Law[8], cases that fall under Article 168quater of L.I.R. are explicitly excluded from wealth tax. Trade tax is also not affected by reverse hybrid mismatches.

 

Mismatches in Tax Residency

Mismatches in tax residency exist in the case of arrangements where a taxpayer is considered to be resident for tax purposes in two countries at the same time, and payments result in double deduction of business expenses. This may be the case if the company’s registered office is located in one country, but the place of management is in another country. In cases of dual residency, Luxembourg will exclude the deduction of business expenses to the extent that the deduction of business expenses is granted in the other country but is not offset against income to be allocated to Luxembourg. However, Article 168ter paragraph 4 of L.I.R. specifically introduced for this purpose does not apply if the taxpayer is deemed to be exclusively resident in Luxembourg under a double taxation treaty concluded between Luxembourg and the other country. In these cases, the deduction is generally granted in Luxembourg.

 

Exceptions

As stated above, mismatches in payments for financial instruments do not fall within the scope if the mismatch is within the tax status of the payee. Therefore, this applies to tax-exempt undertakings for collective investment (UCI), such as specialized investment funds (SIF) or reserved alternative investment funds (RAIFs).

Luxembourg has also decided to exempt undertakings for collective investment (UCI), such as specialized investment funds (SIF), reserved alternative investment funds (RAIF) or venture capital investment companies (SICAR), from the regulation governing reverse-hybrid mismatches. As a result, the new Article 168quater of L.I.R. does not apply to these fund structures.

 

Burden of Proof

According to the draft Article 168ter paragraph 6 of L.I.R., the burden of proof is on the taxpayer to demonstrate to the tax authority, upon request, that an anti-abuse rule does not apply.

 

Temporal Application

The regulations defined in ATAD II came into force on 1 January 2020. However, contrary to the other regulations of ATAD II in Luxembourg, Article 168quater of L.I.R. on reversed hybrid mismatches will not be applicable until 1 January 2022.

 

To-Dos – Conclusions

In connection with the introduction of the new Articles 168ter and 168quater of L.I.R. transposing ATAD II into Luxembourg law, cross-border groups of companies should verify whether they fall within the scope of Articles 168ter and 168quater of L.I.R. In particular, the following should be assessed:

  • whether associated enterprises exist;
  • whether there are conflicts of eligibility between the countries of these companies with regard to cash flows (e.g. whether business expenses are deductible in one country and revenues are tax-exempt in another); or
  • whether reverse hybrid mismatches exist in companies.

 

In cases where one of the provisions of Articles 168ter or 168quater of L.I.R. does or may apply, it is recommended to prepare appropriate documentation ahead of time in order to be ready for questions from the tax authority.

Such documentation may include, for example:

  • proof of residence of associated enterprises;
  • evidence of taxation of payments received in the country of residence of the associated enterprise;
  • evidence that payments made to a company are not neutralized by a hybrid mismatch.

We are happy to assist you in the evaluation and, where applicable, optimization of your company structure in these and other matters and look forward to providing you with comprehensive advice.

[1] Bill no. 7466.

[2] Luxembourg Income Tax Act – „Loi du 4 décembre 1967 concernant l’impôt sur le revenu“.

[3] BEPS: “Base Erosion and Profit Shifting”.

[4] EU Directive 2016/1164.

[5] EU Directive 2017/952.

[6] Bill no. 7466.

[7] Luxembourg Income Tax Act – “Loi du 4 décembre 1967 concernant l’impôt sur le revenu”.

[8] Loi du 16 octobre 1934 concernant l’impôt sur la fortune.

Richtlinie zur Bekämpfung von Steuervermeidungspraktiken II – Luxemburg setzt ATAD-II-Richtlinie um

Richtlinie zur Bekämpfung von Steuervermeidungspraktiken II – Luxemburg setzt ATAD-II-Richtlinie um

Executive Summary

Luxemburg hat mit Gesetz vom 20.12.2019[1] die EU-Richtlinie ATAD II mit Wirkung zum 01.01.2020 durch die Artikel 168ter und 168quater L.I.R.[2] in nationales Recht umgesetzt. Die Richtlinie sowie das Gesetz sollen gegen sogenannte „hybride Gestaltungen“ zwischen verbundenen Unternehmen sowie generell gegen Steuersparmodelle („strukturierte Gestaltungen“) und doppelt ansässige Gesellschaften vorgehen, die bei grenzüberschreitenden Strukturen zu Steuervorteilen führen. Das Gesetz soll steuerliche Inkongruenzen beseitigen, die durch doppelte steuerliche Abzüge von Zahlungen oder durch steuerlichen Abzug einer Zahlung bei korrespondierender Nichterfassung der Zahlung beim Empfänger entstehen. Zahlungen auf Gestaltungen, die in den Anwendungsbereich des Gesetzes fallen, sind deshalb steuerlich entweder nicht oder nur einmal abzugsfähig. Steuerliche Inkongruenzen sollen nicht dadurch entstehen, dass ein Zahlungsempfänger beispielsweise von einer Steuerbefreiung profitiert, wie z. B. bei Zahlungen an Investmentfonds, oder die Zahlung beim Empfänger einer Präferenzbesteuerung unterliegt. Außerdem hat Luxemburg Investmentfonds in der Rechtsform von Personengesellschaften aus dem Anwendungsbereich der Regelungen für „umgekehrt hybride Gestaltungen“ herausgenommen. Betroffene Unternehmen müssen auf Anfrage des Finanzamtes anhand geeigneter Dokumente nachweisen können, dass keine hybride Gestaltung vorliegt bzw. die verschiedenen Anwendungsbereiche des Gesetzes keine Anwendung finden. Vor diesem Hintergrund empfehlen wir eine Analyse von bestehenden Strukturen im Hinblick auf eine mögliche Anwendung des Gesetzes.

 

Historie und Einführung in die ATAD II

Ausgelöst durch die Finanzkrise 2008, hat die OECD auf Veranlassung der G20-Staaten im Jahr 2015 fünfzehn mögliche nationale und internationale Handlungsempfehlungen („action points“) veröffentlicht, die Gewinnverlagerungen zwischen Staaten verhindern und somit eine Besteuerung im Land der Wertschöpfung sicherstellen sollen („BEPS-Maßnahmen“[3]). Um Teile der auf Ebene der OECD beschlossenen BEPS-Maßnahmen in den Mitgliedstaaten der EU umzusetzen, hat der Europäische Rat die Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive am 12.07.2016[4] („ATAD I“) und deren Fortsetzung am 29.05.2017[5] („ATAD II“) erlassen. Die Umsetzung der Vorschriften der ATAD I erfolgte in Luxemburg zum 01.01.2019 mit dem Gesetz vom 21.12.2018 (Nr. 7318) und dem neuen Artikel 168bis L.I.R. Mit Gesetz vom 20.12.2019[6] hat Luxemburg die EU-Richtlinie ATAD II mit Wirkung zum 01.01.2020 durch die Artikel 168ter und 168quater L.I.R.[7] in nationales Recht umgesetzt.

 

Während es bei der ATAD I um die Maßnahmen gegen Steuergestaltungen durch Implementierung einer Zinsschranke, Regelungen zur Wegzugsbesteuerung, allgemeine Missbrauchsvermeidungsregelungen und Regeln zur Hinzurechnungsbesteuerung ging (siehe hierzu auch unseren Newsletter vom 12.10.2018 unter www.aiqunited.com/blog), bezwecken die ATAD II sowie das Gesetz insbesondere das Vorgehen gegen grenzüberschreitende „hybride Gestaltungen“ bei verbundenen Unternehmen, die zu doppelten steuerlichen Abzügen von Zahlungen oder einem steuerlichen Abzug bei gleichzeitiger Nichtberücksichtigung der korrespondierenden Zahlung im Staat des Empfängers der Zahlung („Inkongruenzen“) führen. Zusätzlich soll gegen „Steuersparmodelle“ (die Richtlinie bezeichnet diese als strukturierte Gestaltungen) sowie gegen Steueroptimierungen bei doppelt ansässigen Gesellschaften vorgegangen werden.

 

Hybride Finanzinstrumente und Gesellschaften im Allgemeinen

Finanzinstrumente, die sowohl Merkmale von Fremdkapital als auch Merkmale von Eigenkapital aufweisen, werden im Allgemeinen als „hybride Finanzinstrumente“ bezeichnet. Bei grenzüberschreitenden Finanzierungen zwischen verbundenen Unternehmen kann es nun dazu kommen, dass ein Staat das betreffende Finanzinstrument als Eigenkapital ansieht, während der andere Staat es als Fremdkapital betrachtet. Dementsprechend kann die Vergütung auf das Instrument einmal als Zins und einmal als Dividende angesehen werden, was dazu führen kann, dass die Zinszahlungen im Staat des Zahlenden eine steuerlich abzugsfähige Ausgabe,  im Staat des Empfängers jedoch als steuerbefreite Dividende gelten können („Inkongruenz“).

Hybride Gesellschaften liegen im internationalen Kontext vor, wenn z. B. eine Personengesellschaft mit ausländischen Gesellschaftern im Ansässigkeitsstaat der Gesellschaft (ggf. nur für steuerliche Zwecke) als Kapitalgesellschaft angesehen wird. Dadurch kann es im Rahmen der Besteuerung von Gewinnen zu der Situation kommen, dass die Personengesellschaft in ihrem Sitzstaat nicht besteuert wird, da diese kein Steuersubjekt in diesem Land ist, sondern deren ausländische Gesellschafter als Steuersubjekt angesehen werden (man spricht von steuerlicher „Transparenz“), die jedoch in der Regel von dem Sitzstaat nicht besteuert werden können, weil diese im Ausland ansässig sind. Aus Sicht des Ansässigkeitsstaates der Gesellschafter wird in unserem Beispiel die ausländische Personengesellschaft jedoch als Kapitalgesellschaft angesehen und damit als Steuersubjekt in ihrem Sitzstaat. Der Ansässigkeitsstaat der Gesellschafter besteuert deshalb die Gesellschafter nicht. Dies kann dann dazu führen, dass weder der Sitzstaat noch der Ansässigkeitsstaat der Gesellschaft die Einkünfte der Personengesellschaft besteuern.

Die Ursachen für hybride Finanzinstrumente liegen darin begründet, dass es international keine einheitliche Definition von Eigenkapital beziehungsweise Fremdkapital gibt und in Bezug auf Gesellschaften keine übergeordnete (Steuer-)Rechtsordnung besteht.

 

Betroffene Unternehmen

Von dem Gesetz sind neben den in Luxemburg der Körperschaftsteuer unterliegenden Unternehmen auch Betriebsstätten von Körperschaften betroffen, die steuerlich in einem Staat außerhalb Luxemburgs inklusive Drittstaaten ansässig sind.

Zusätzlich können luxemburgische Personengesellschaften in den Anwendungsbereich des Gesetzes fallen, wenn diese nach den Regeln des ausländischen Ansässigkeitsstaates der Gesellschafter als Körperschaften behandelt werden („umgekehrt hybride Gestaltungen“).

 

Hybride Gestaltungen und verbundene Unternehmen

Hybride Gestaltungen

Ziel des Gesetzes und der Richtlinie ist es, gegen steuerliche „Inkongruenzen“ (doppelter Abzug von Zahlungen, Abzug von Zahlungen und Nichtberücksichtigung beim Empfänger) bei verbundenen Unternehmen vorzugehen, die durch grenzüberschreitende hybride Gestaltungen entstehen. Fällt eine Gestaltung in den Anwendungsbereich des Gesetzes, werden die Inkongruenzen durch Abzugsbeschränkungen bzw. einseitige Besteuerung beseitigt.

 

Das Gesetz unterscheidet grundsätzlich folgende Kategorien von hybriden Gestaltungen, die sich in mehrere Fallkonstellationen untergliedern:

 

a) Zahlungen auf (hybride) Finanzinstrumente

Beispielsweise liegt ein derartiger Fall vor, wenn eine Zahlung einer in Luxemburg ansässigen Körperschaft als steuermindernde Betriebsausgabe in Form von Zinsaufwand abgezogen werden kann, diese beim Empfänger jedoch als Dividende qualifiziert wird, die nach nationaler Gesetzgebung des Ansässigkeitsstaates des Empfängers steuerbefreit ist.

Allerdings sollen laut Gesetz keine Inkongruenzen vorliegen, wenn die Steuerermäßigung ihren Grund in dem Steuerstatus des Zahlungsempfängers hat (z. B. befreiter Investmentfonds) oder die Einkünfte beim Zahlungsempfänger einem (steuerlichen) Präferenzregime unterliegen.

 

b) Zahlungen an ein hybrides Unternehmen oder von einem hybriden Unternehmen

Bei Zahlungen an ein hybrides Unternehmen kann es zu Inkongruenzen kommen, wenn grenzüberschreitende Zahlungen an ein hybrides Unternehmen durch die beteiligten Staaten unterschiedlich zugeordnet werden. Der Sitzstaat des hybriden Unternehmens als Zahlungsempfänger ordnet die Zahlung den Gesellschaftern des hybriden Unternehmens zu; der Staat der Gesellschafter des hybriden Unternehmens ordnet die Zahlung dem hybriden Unternehmen selbst zu. Es entsteht eine Inkongruenz durch Abzug bei Nichtberücksichtigung der Zahlung.

Inkongruenzen bei Zahlungen von einem hybriden Unternehmen können sich dadurch ergeben, dass das an seinen Gesellschafter zahlende hybride Unternehmen als Kapitalgesellschaft im Sitzstaat angesehen wird, jedoch als Personengesellschaft im Land ihres Gesellschafters, in dem die Zahlung steuerlich nicht berücksichtigt wird, gilt.

 

c) Zahlungen an ein Unternehmen mit Betriebsstätte(n)

Diesen Gestaltungen liegen Zurechnungskonflikte der Zahlungen zugrunde. Beispiel einer solchen Gestaltung sind Zinszahlungen eines Unternehmens an eine (ausländische) Betriebsstätte eines verbundenen Unternehmens (Stammhaus). Aus Sicht des Staates des Zahlenden handelt es sich um eine abzugsfähige Zinszahlung. Aus Sicht des Staates des verbundenen Unternehmens (Stammhaus) ist die Zahlung der Betriebsstätte zuzuordnen und deshalb steuerlich nicht zu erfassen. Aus Sicht des Staates, in dem sich die Betriebsstätte befindet, ist die Zahlung dem Stammhaus zuzuordnen. Es kommt also zu einer Inkongruenz durch Abzug und Nichtberücksichtigung.

 

d) Zahlungen an unberücksichtigte Betriebsstätten oder fiktive Zahlungen zwischen Hauptsitz und Betriebsstätte oder zwischen Betriebsstätten

Bei Zahlungen an eine unberücksichtigte Betriebsstätte liegt letztendlich der gleiche Sachverhalt wie unter c) vor. Der Unterschied besteht jedoch darin, dass die Betriebsstätte aus Sicht des Staates, in dem sie sich befindet, gar nicht existiert; lediglich aus Sicht des Stammhauses, das die Zahlung dieser (aus seiner Sicht vorhandenen) Betriebsstätte zuordnet.

Fiktive Zahlungen zwischen Betriebsstätte oder Hauptsitz können sich nach nationalen Steuervorschriften ergeben, gemäß denen Zahlungen einer Betriebsstätte steuerlich abzugsfähig sind, beim Empfänger jedoch keinen Zufluss auslösen.

 

e) Importierte Inkongruenzen

Hierbei handelt es sich um steuerabzugsfähige Zahlungen auf ein nicht hybrides (Finanz-)Instrument durch luxemburgische Unternehmen an ein oder mehrere verbundene Unternehmen in einem Drittland, die im Ausland eine hybride Gestaltung eingegangen sind. Die Zahlungen sind in Luxemburg nicht zum Abzug zugelassen, soweit diese in direkter oder indirekter Weise zur Finanzierung von hybriden Strukturen in anderen Staaten führen und der beteiligte Drittstaat die hybride Gestaltung nicht bereits selbst aufgrund nationaler Vorschriften neutralisiert hat.

 

Verbundene Unternehmen

Verbundene Unternehmen liegen vor, wenn ein Unternehmen (oder Steuerpflichtiger) die tatsächliche Kontrolle über ein anderes Unternehmen ausübt. Beispiel dafür sind eine direkte oder indirekte Kapitalbeteiligung oder Stimmrechte in Höhe von mindestens 50 % oder ein Gewinnanspruch in Höhe von mindestens 50 %. Hierzu zählen auch Unternehmen einer bilanziell konsolidierten Gruppe oder Unternehmen, bei denen der Steuerpflichtige einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die Geschäftsführung ausüben kann.

 

Wenn es sich bei der hybriden Gestaltung um eine Zahlung im Rahmen eines Finanzinstruments handelt, wird die jeweilige 50 %-Grenze auf 25 % abgesenkt.

 

Eine Person, die in Bezug auf die Stimmrechte oder die Kapitalbeteiligung an einem Unternehmen gemeinsam mit einer anderen Person handelt, wird so behandelt, als hielte sie eine Beteiligung an allen Stimmrechten oder dem gesamten Kapital dieses Unternehmens, die bzw. das von der anderen Person gehalten werden/wird. Das gilt allerdings bei Beteiligungen an Investmentfonds nur, wenn die Person oder das Unternehmen direkt oder indirekt mindestens 10 % der Anteile hält und das Gewinnbezugsrecht mindestens 10 % beträgt. Dies soll vorbehaltlich eines Gegenbeweises gelten.

 

Zu beachten ist, dass das Gesetz auch ohne das Vorhandensein von verbundenen Unternehmen gilt, wenn eine „strukturierte Gestaltung“ vorliegt. Um eine solche handelt es sich, wenn die beiden nicht miteinander verbundenen Unternehmen die steuerlichen Folgen kennen und die Gestaltung letztlich für steuerliche Zwecke vorgenommen wurde.

 

 

 

Umgekehrt hybride Gestaltungen

Zusätzlich zu den oben genannten Regelungen des Artikels 168ter L.I.R. ist die neue Vorschrift des Artikels 168quater L.I.R. in Kraft getreten, der sogenannte umgekehrte hybride Gestaltungen betrifft. Diese liegen vor, wenn mehrheitlich an einer luxemburgischen Personengesellschaft (hybride Unternehmen) beteiligte Unternehmen in einem anderen Land (EU oder Drittland) ansässig sind, das diese Personengesellschaft entgegen der Einordnung in Luxemburg als Steuersubjekt betrachtet.

Dadurch soll eine doppelte Nichtbesteuerung vermieden werden. Durch Änderung des Artikels 4 des Vermögensteuergesetzes[8] werden Fälle, die unter Artikel 168quater L.I.R. fallen, explizit von der Vermögensteuer ausgenommen. Ebenfalls keine Auswirkung haben umgekehrte hybride Gestaltungen auf die Gewerbesteuer.

Inkongruenzen bei der Steueransässigkeit

Inkongruenzen bei der Steueransässigkeit liegen bei Gestaltungen vor, bei denen ein Steuerpflichtiger in zwei Staaten gleichzeitig für steuerliche Zwecke als ansässig gilt und Zahlungen zu einem doppelten Betriebsausgabenabzug führen. Solche Fälle können vorliegen, wenn sich der Sitz der Gesellschaft in einem Staat, der Ort der Geschäftsleitung jedoch in einem anderen Staat befindet. In Fällen der doppelten Ansässigkeit wird Luxemburg den Betriebsausgabenabzug ausschließen, soweit im anderen Staat der Betriebsausgabenabzug gewährt, jedoch zugleich nicht mit den auf Luxemburg entfallenden Einkünften verrechnet wird. Der hierfür geschaffene Artikel 168ter Absatz 4 L.I.R. findet jedoch keine Anwendung, sofern der Steuerpflichtige nach einem zwischen Luxemburg und dem anderen Staat abgeschlossenen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen als ausschließlich in Luxemburg ansässig gilt. In diesen Fällen wird der Abzug in Luxemburg generell gewährt.

Ausnahmen

Wie oben bereits angemerkt, fallen Inkongruenzen bei Zahlungen auf Finanzinstrumente nicht in den Anwendungsbereich, wenn die Inkongruenz in dem Steuerstatus des Zahlungsempfängers liegt. Dies betrifft somit steuerbefreite Organismen für gemeinsame Anlagen (OGA) wie etwa Spezialinvestmentfonds (SIF) oder reservierte alternative Investmentfonds (RAIF).

Luxemburg hat ebenfalls entschieden, Organismen für gemeinsame Anlagen (OGA), wie etwa Spezialinvestmentfonds (SIF), reservierte alternative Investmentfonds (RAIF) oder Investmentgesellschaften für Risikokapital (SICAR), von der Regelung zu umgekehrten hybriden Gestaltungen auszunehmen. Folglich findet der neue Artikel 168quater L.I.R. auf diese Fondsstrukturen keine Anwendung.

Beweislast

Entsprechend dem Entwurf zu Artikel 168ter Absatz 6 L.I.R. obliegt dem Steuerpflichtigen die Beweislast, der Steuerbehörde auf Anfrage nachzuweisen, dass eine Missbrauchsvermeidungsregelung keine Anwendung findet.

 

 Zeitliche Anwendung

Die Regelungen der ATAD II ist ab dem 01.01.2020 in Kraft getreten. Die Anwendung des Artikels 168quater L.I.R. zu den umgekehrten hybriden Gestaltungen soll abweichend von den anderen Regelungen der ATAD II in Luxemburg jedoch erst ab dem 01.01.2022 gelten.

 

To-dos – Schlussfolgerungen

Im Hinblick auf die Einführung der neuen Artikel 168ter und 168quater L.I.R. zur Umsetzung der ATAD II in das luxemburgische Recht sollten grenzüberschreitend agierende Unternehmensverbunde prüfen, ob sie in den Anwendungsbereich der Artikel 168ter und 168quater L.I.R. fallen. Dies sollte insbesondere dahingehend erfolgen,

  • ob verbundene Unternehmen vorliegen,
  • ob zwischen den Ländern dieser Unternehmen Qualifikationskonflikte bei den Zahlungsströmen bestehen (z. B. ob Betriebsausgabenabzug in einem Land und Steuerfreiheit der Einnahmen im anderen Land gilt) oder
  • ob bei Gesellschaften umgekehrte hybride Gestaltungen vorliegen.

 

In den Fällen, in denen eine der Vorschriften der Artikel 168ter oder 168quater L.I.R. Anwendung findet oder Anwendung finden könnte, empfiehlt es sich, eine entsprechende Dokumentation präventiv vorzubereiten, um auf Fragen der Finanzverwaltung vorbereitet zu sein. Hierzu gehören beispielsweise:

  • Nachweise über die Ansässigkeit von verbundenen Unternehmen,
  • Nachweise über die Besteuerung von Zahlungseingängen im Ansässigkeitsstaat des verbundenen Unternehmens,
  • Nachweise darüber, dass Zahlungen an ein Unternehmen bei diesem nicht durch eine hybride Gestaltung neutralisiert werden.

Wir stehen Ihnen gerne bei der Bewertung und ggf. Optimierung Ihrer Unternehmensstruktur in diesen und anderen Fragen zur Verfügung und beraten Sie hierzu gerne umfassend.

[1] Gesetzentwurf Nr. 7466.

[2] Luxemburgisches Einkommensteuergesetz – „Loi du 4 décembre 1967 concernant l’impôt sur le revenu“.

[3] BEPS: „Base Erosion and Profit Shifting“.

[4] EU-Richtlinie 2016/1164.

[5] EU-Richtlinie 2017/952.

[6] Gesetzentwurf Nr. 7466.

[7] Luxemburgisches Einkommensteuergesetz – „Loi du 4 décembre 1967 concernant l’impôt sur le revenu“.

[8] Loi du 16 octobre 1934 concernant l’impôt sur la fortune.