Amending Directive 2018/822/EU (“DAC 6”) in Luxembourg

Amending Directive 2018/822/EU (“DAC 6”) in Luxembourg

Scope and Regulatory Facts

In its fifth Directive 2018/822/EU (generally referred to as “DAC 6”) amending Directive 2011/16/EU on disclosure requirements for cross-border tax arrangements of 25 May 2018, the Council of the European Union requires the Member States to implement statutory reporting obligations for cross-border (tax) arrangements by 31 December 2019.

The implementation of DAC 6 in the national law of the Member States of the European Union and a more stringent presentation of the regulatory content is in the discretion of the Member State itself and must therefore be examined in each country on a case-by-case basis. Simplified reporting requirements applicable to individuals due to the professional obligation to maintain secrecy is often interpreted differently in each Member State of the European Union.

On 8 August 2019, the Luxembourg government submitted to the Luxembourg Parliament bill no. 7465 on the adoption and implementation of a reporting obligation for cross-border tax arrangements. Bill no. 7465 has not yet been passed but is expected to enter into force retroactively as of 1 January 2020.

On 30 December 2019, Germany adopted the current bill on DAC 6 and its implementation in national law of Sections 138d et seq. with effect from 1 January 2020. A bill has already been presented on the obligation to report national arrangements, but it has not been included in the implementation in national law so far.

The Luxembourg bill and the implemented German legislation essentially correspond to DAC 6. Both are broadly defined and contain a great deal of ambiguities in their practical application.

Intermediary and Taxpayer

The Luxembourg bill imposes a reporting obligation on the “intermediary” and the taxpayer; in this context, an “intermediary” means any person subject to European law that designs, markets, organizes, makes available for use, or manages the implementation of cross-border arrangements for third parties. This includes providers of tax advice, lawyers, and AIFMs. Due to the broad interpretation of the term “intermediary”, questions arise as to the practical application, which should be specified in more detail in a future national administrative instruction. Therefore, a sound knowledge of tax law is often necessary in order to identify and assess cross-border arrangements as such. Also, due to the broad definition, it can be assumed that several participants with respect to the same cross-border arrangement may be “intermediaries” even though, in general, double reporting is not provided for. However, if an “intermediary” is not subject to the law of a European state or cannot report due to an obligation to maintain secrecy imposed in the country of residence, the reporting obligation will ultimately shift to the taxpayer. In theory, this reporting obligation may also ultimately affect the investor in an investment fund.

Subject Matter and Hallmarks

In particular, cross-border arrangements fulfilling one of the generic or specific hallmarks and whose objective is to obtain a tax advantage (“main benefit” test) are subject to reporting requirements.

The reporting obligation itself applies all direct taxes, such as income tax, corporate tax, trade tax, real estate transfer tax, inheritance tax, and gift tax. VAT as an indirect tax seems to be exempt from the reporting obligation. The applicability of the taxe d’abonnement imposed on Luxembourg investment funds remains unclear.

In order to verify and identify reportable hallmarks, the bill also refers to the explanations in Annex IV of the amending Directive 2018/822/EU. Generic hallmarks describe in particular the external hallmarks of the arrangement, such as the establishment of a condition of confidentiality with regard to the tax advantage of a structure. Specific hallmarks include transaction-related advantages, such as transfer pricing models. Thus, the reporting obligations also cover legal cross-border arrangements. The below chart gives an overview of the generic and specific hallmarks which are currently to be implemented in Luxembourg law.

Reporting Deadlines

If a reportable structure has been identified, the current bill, similar to the amending directive, provides for a reporting obligation within 30 days of the end of the quarter to the competent tax authority. This deadline starts, among other things, (i) when an arrangement is made available for implementation, (ii) when an arrangement is ready for implementation, or (iii) when implementation has begun, whichever occurs first. Furthermore, “old arrangements” implemented between 25 June 2018 and 1 July 2020 (“transition period”) must be reported within 30 days of the end of the transition period by 31 August 2020. Below is a timeline of key data which can be simplified as follows:

Reporting Data and Format

Reporting to be submitted to the relevant tax authority itself includes, in a simplified form, among other things, additional information on the “intermediary” and the taxpayer, details and assessment of the hallmarks used, a brief description of the arrangement, date of the beginning of implementation, a value of the reportable cross-border arrangement, and a list of Member States involved. After the transition period on 1 July 2020, the cross-border arrangements reported will be exchanged between the relevant tax authorities 30 days of the end of the reporting quarter.

Up to now, no information has been provided as to the reporting format and method in Luxembourg. Germany has published an xml standard which transmits reportable information to the German tax authority via an interface in Elster, thus enabling the exchange of information.

Conclusions and Actions to Be Taken

Luxembourg bill no. 7465 essentially corresponds to DAC 6 and is not sufficiently specific due to the missing or broad provisions laid down in DAC 6. As a result, at least in the initial phase, a broad interpretation of the hallmarks and thus of the reportable cross-border arrangements can be expected. In this regard, the financial center Luxembourg expects to obtain further clarifications from the tax authority(ies). Until then, national and international “unnecessary reports” and double reporting can be expected. Starting today, work should begin on identifying old arrangements and in particular arrangements to be reported in order to fulfill the reporting obligations due in August 2020 in a timely manner. In the event that the “intermediary” or the taxpayer fails or delays to transmit information, or transmits incomplete or incorrect data, he/she can be subject to sanctions of up to EUR 250,000 in Luxembourg.

If taxpayers have not yet made a decision with regard to the identification of reportable cross-border arrangements implemented during the transition period, such decision should be taken immediately and no later than by 1 July 2020. The reporting data should be prepared in a timely manner so that it can be promptly made available to the competent tax authorities.

In phase I, AIQU TAX S.à r.l. provides assistance in an impact analysis of the implemented structure and transactions in order to prepare the reporting in phase II and submit it to the competent tax authority. We look forward to presenting our services in a personal meeting.

Änderungsrichtlinie 2018/822/EU („DAC 6“) in Luxemburg

Änderungsrichtlinie 2018/822/EU („DAC 6“) in Luxemburg

Anwendungsbereich und Regelungstatbestände

In ihrer fünften Änderungsrichtlinie 2018/822/EU (allgemein „DAC 6“) zur Richtlinie 2011/16/EU zu Offenlegungspflichten für grenzüberschreitende Steuergestaltungsmodelle vom 25. Mai 2018 verpflichtet der Rat der Europäische Union die Mitgliedstaaten zur Implementierung einer gesetzlichen Meldepflicht von grenzüberschreitenden (Steuer-)Gestaltungen bis zum 31. Dezember 2019.

Die Implementierung der DAC 6 in das nationale Recht der Mitgliedstaaten der Europäische Union und eine verschärfte Darlegung des Regelungsinhaltes liegt im Ermessen des Mitgliedstaates selbst und ist deshalb von Land zu Land gesondert zu prüfen. Auch eine aufgrund einer beruflichen Verschwiegenheitspflicht vereinfachte Meldepflicht für Personen wird in den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäische Union bisher oftmals unterschiedlich ausgelegt.

Am 8. August 2019 legte die luxemburgische Regierung den Gesetzentwurf Nummer 7465 zur Verabschiedung und Implementierung einer Mitteilungspflicht für grenzüberschreitende Steuergestaltungsmodelle dem luxemburgischen Parlament vor. Eine Verabschiedung des Gesetzentwurf Nummer 7465 erfolgte bisher nicht, ist jedoch alsbald mit rückwirkendem Inkrafttreten zum 01. Januar 2020 zu erwarten.

Deutschland verabschiedete am 30. Dezember 2019 den aktuellen Gesetzentwurf zu DAC 6 und dessen Implementierung in die nationale Gesetzgebung der §§ 138d ff. mit Wirkung ab dem 01. Januar 2020. Über eine Meldepflicht innerstaatlicher Gestaltungen wurde bereits ein Gesetzentwurf vorgelegt, welcher jedoch in der bisherigen Umsetzung in nationales Recht nicht enthalten ist.

Der luxemburgische Gesetzentwurf und die implementierte deutsche Gesetzgebung entsprechen im Wesentlichen der DAC 6. Beide sind entsprechend weit gefasst und beinhalten große Unklarheiten in der praktischen Anwendung.

Intermediär und Steuerpflichtiger

Der luxemburgische Gesetzentwurf legt dem „Intermediär“ und dem Steuerpflichtigen eine Meldepflicht auf, wobei „Intermediär“ hier jede einem europäischen Recht unterliegende Person ist, welche grenzüberschreitende Gestaltungen für Dritte konzipiert, vermarktet, organisiert, zur Nutzung bereitstellt oder dessen Umsetzung verwaltet. Hierbei handelt es sich u.a. um Steuerberater, Rechtsanwälte und AIFM. Aufgrund des dadurch weit ausgelegten Begriffs des „Intermediär“ stellen sich Fragen in der praktischen Anwendung, welche durch eine zukünftige Verwaltungsanweisung im Inland nähere Spezifikation finden soll. So ist jedoch häufig ein fundiertes steuerrechtliches Hintergrundwissen notwendig, um grenzüberschreitende Gestaltungen als solche zu erkennen und beurteilen zu können. Auch ist durch die weit gefasste Definition davon auszugehen, dass mehrere Beteiligte in Bezug auf die gleiche grenzüberschreitende Gestaltung, „Intermediär“ sein können, auch wenn grundsätzlich Doppelmeldungen nicht vorgesehen sind. Sofern ein „Intermediär“ jedoch nicht einem Recht eines europäischen Staates unterliegt, oder auf Grund einer in dem Ansässigkeitsstaat unterlegenen Verschwiegenheitspflicht kein Meldepflichtiger sein kann, verschiebt sich diese Pflicht zur Meldung in letzter Instanz auf den Steuerpflichtigen. Diese Meldepflicht kann theoretisch in letzter Instanz auch den Anleger eines Investmentfonds treffen.

Gegenstand und Kennzeichen

Meldepflichtig im Speziellen sind grenzüberschreitende Gestaltungen, die eines der allgemeinen Kennzeichen oder spezifischen Kennzeichen erfüllen und welche zur Erlangung eines Steuervorteils führen („Main Benefit“-Test).

Die Meldepflicht selbst betrifft alle direkten Steuern, wie beispielsweise die Einkommen-, Körperschaft-, Gewerbe-, Grunderwerb-, Erbschaft- und Schenkungssteuer. Die Umsatzsteuer als indirekte Steuer scheint von der Meldepflicht ausgenommen. Unklar ist bisher der Anwendungsbereich auf die taxe d’abonnement, die bei luxemburgischen Investmentfonds anfällt.

Zur Prüfung und Identifizierung der meldepflichtigen Kennzeichen verweist der Gesetzentwurf im Weiteren auf die Ausführungen i.S.d. Anhangs IV der Änderungsrichtlinie 2018/822/EU. Allgemeine Kennzeichen beschreiben insbesondere die äußeren Gestaltungsmerkmale, wie die Vereinbarung einer Vertraulichkeitsklausel über den Steuervorteil einer Struktur. Die spezifischen Kennzeichen umfassen transaktionsbedingte Vorteilserlangungen, wie Verrechnungspreisgestaltungsmodelle. So umfassen die Meldepflichten auch legale grenzüberschreitende Gestaltungen. Folgende Übersicht zeigt die allgemeinen und spezifischen Kennzeichen welche aktuell Umsetzung in das luxemburgische Gesetz finden sollen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meldefristen

Wurde ein meldepflichtiges Modell identifiziert, so sieht der vorliegende Gesetzentwurf, analog der Änderungsrichtlinie, eine Meldepflicht innerhalb von 30 Tagen nach Quartalsende an die zuständige Finanzverwaltung vor. Diese Frist beginnt u. a., (i) wenn ein Modell zur Umsetzung bereitgestellt wird, (ii) wenn ein Modell umsetzungsbereit ist, oder (iii) wenn die Umsetzung begonnen wurde, je nachdem was früher eintritt. Des Weiteren sind „Altmodelle“ welche zwischen dem 25. Juni 2018 und dem 1. Juli 2020 implementiert wurden („Übergangsphase“) innerhalb von 30 Tagen nach Ende der Übergangsphase bis zum 31. August 2020 meldepflichtig. Ein Zeitstrahl wesentlicher Daten kann wie folgt vereinfacht dargestellt werden.

Meldedaten und Form

Die an die jeweilige Finanzverwaltung abzugebende Meldung selbst umfasst, vereinfacht dargestellt, u. a. die erweiterten Angaben zum „Intermediär“ und des Steuerpflichtigen, Einzelheiten und Beurteilung zu den herangezogenen Kennzeichen, eine zusammenfassende Beschreibung des Modells, Datum des Umsetzungsbeginns, einen Wert der meldepflichtigen grenzüberschreitenden Gestaltung sowie eine Liste involvierter Mitgliedstaaten. Nach der Übergangsphase zum 1. Juli 2020 werden die gemeldeten grenzüberschreitenden Gestaltungen jeweils 30 Tage nach Ende des Anzeigequartals zwischen den betroffenen Finanzverwaltungen ausgetauscht.

Welche Form und über welchen Weg eine Meldung in Luxemburg erfolgen wird, ist noch nicht bekannt. Deutschland veröffentlichte einen xml-Standard, welcher über eine Schnittstelle in Elster die meldepflichtigen Informationen zur deutschen Finanzverwaltung übermittelt und diese somit den Weg in den Informationsaustausch finden werden.

Schlussfolgerungen und To-dos

Der luxemburgische Gesetzentwurf Nummer 7465 entspricht im Wesentlichen der DAC 6 und ist aufgrund der fehlenden oder weitgefassten Bestimmungen der DAC 6 nicht hinreichend konkret. Dies führt dazu, dass zumindest in der Anfangsphase eine weite Auslegung der Kennzeichen und damit der meldepflichtigen grenzüberschreitenden Gestaltungen zu erwarten ist. Insofern erwartet der Finanzplatz Klarstellungen seitens der Finanzverwaltung(en). Bis dahin ist mit national und international „unnötigen Meldungen“ und Doppelmeldungen zu rechnen. Bereits heute sollte mit der Identifizierung von Altmodellen und insbesondere der zu meldenden Gestaltungen begonnen werden, um im August 2020 einer zeitnahen Meldung nachzukommen. Bei fehlender Übermittlung von Informationen, verspäteter Übermittlung oder Übermittlung unvollständiger oder unrichtiger Daten seitens des „Intermediäres“ bzw. des Steuerpflichtigen, können diese in Luxemburg mit Sanktionen bis zu 250.000 Euro geahndet werden.

Falls bisher noch keine Entscheidung der Steuerpflichtigen in Bezug auf eine Identifizierung von während der Übergangsphase implementierten meldepflichtigen grenzüberschreitenden Gestaltungen getroffen wurde, sollte nun unmittelbar und bis zum 1. Juli 2020 entschieden werden. Die Meldedaten sind zeitnah aufzubereiten, damit diese den zuständigen Finanzbehörden rechtzeitig zur Verfügung gestellt werden können.

AIQU TAX S.à r.l. unterstützt in Phase I bei einer Betroffenheitsanalyse der implementierten Struktur und Transaktionen, um in Phase II die Meldungen vorzubereiten und an die zuständige Finanzverwaltung zu übermitteln. Gerne stellen wir unsere Leistungen in einem persönlichen Gespräch vor.